I don’t know about you, but, in these troubling times, I find comfort in the minutiae of life. There’s nothing like disappearing down a rabbit hole of information to escape reality.
At the moment, my mind is often preoccupied with thinking about new recipes for The Allergy Brothers Cakes. I am wondering if it is possible to make a vegan and gluten free gin and tonic cake… Not for the Allergy Brothers themselves, they are a bit young! Maybe for all the parents contemplating the school summer holidays? The obvious first question is “is gin and tonic vegan and gluten free?”
Gin is, according to the Oxford Dictionary, “a clear alcoholic spirit distilled from grain or malt and flavoured with juniper berries”. Grain and malt doesn’t sound very gluten free. However, as the gluten proteins are removed during the distillation process, all spirits, unless a gluten-containing ingredient is added after distillation, are gluten free. However, some very, very sensitive individuals might react to gin distilled from grain and malt. In the UK, Chase’s gin is made from an apple base, and not grain. However, gin is gluten free enough to get a thumbs up from the Coeliac UK website so I feel confident with sticking with my old favourite, Bombay Sapphire.
Bombay Sapphire is gluten free, but is it vegan? Luckily, there is a fantastic website called Barnivore that allows you to check whether specific alcoholic drinks are vegan. Bombay Sapphire is marked as vegan friendly. A very few gins are not because gelatin is used to remove impurities in the filtration process, because honey is added as a flavouring, or because beeswax is used to seal the casks.
Now to check the tonic water! Tonic water is just carbonated water with quinine and flavourings and sweeteners added. It should be naturally gluten free. It should also be vegan. However, some vegans are concerned that some tonic waters, particularly American brands, contain High Fructose Corn Syrup. Some vegan writers felt that this was just a bad product to consume, and were concerned about the level of pollution caused by mass corn production. I am planning on using Fever Tree tonic water, which is made from Natural Quinine, Cane Sugar, Spring Water, Citric Acid, and Natural Flavours, so my recipe will be HFCS free.
Phew! Gin and tonic is vegan and gluten free! I think I might have a glass to celebrate. Purely, for research, of course.